Sample: Media surrounds us, from the shows we watch on television to the music we listen to on the radio. How does media affect the society? Do you agree that the impact of media has more disadvantages than benefits?

Nowadays, media is everywhere. Different media outlets broadcast on all possible platforms, from television programs to radio channels. Obviously, this has a significant impact on the society. In this essay, I would like to share my opinion on it, and whether that influence has more disadvantages or not.

To begin with, it’s essential to mention the most influential internet-based media outlets such as Facebook or YouTube. Such platforms are widespread and allow broadcasting for everyone, from individual bloggers to major outlets like BBC News or even government media. Nearly all individuals worldwide watch, listen to, or read information on such media resources. Moreover, scrolling and skimming through online media has become an integral part of daily life. Hance, peoples’ thoughts and behaviors may change depending on the information they consume. However, not all content, whether it is an article, podcast, or other format, is unbiased. As a result, it may lead to a distorted perception of events among those who experienced them.

Meanwhile, the media itself has a positive side. First of all, not all broadcasts are biased or fake; journalists, writers, and other content creators try to remain objective, publishing only credible information. Also, there are many broadcasts which are important to hear, like authorities’ press releases.

In conclusion, the media or so-called ‘the fourth branch of power’ affects the society significantly with its diverse consequences. Nevertheless, I don’t think that disadvantages of this impact overweigh the advantages.