School is a place for learning academic knowledge and passing exams, and skills such as cookery, dressmaking and woodwork should be learned from family and friends. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

In contemporary society, some people assume that school is only responsible for teaching academic knowledge and passing exams. Moreover, skills such as cookery, dressmaking and woodwork should be learned from family and friends. This essay, therefore, aims to unfold my opinion which wholly disagrees with this statement.

For starters, an idea worth mentioning is that apart from academic knowledge and passing tests, it is integral for schools to teach soft skills such as cooking, dressmaking and woodwork since these are living skills which give students the ability to actively and independently live. This is reasoned that academic stuff such as mathematics and chemistry tend to be too abstract and difficult to understand, hence making students find it hard to apply to reality. Furthermore, this sort of knowledge can not provide them with the ability to take care of themselves when they are alone, in terms of fundamental demands such as cooking and fixing things. As a result, this tends to make them fall into passivity dramatically. With such a problem, hardly ever can they be independent and mature, then drastically depending on other people.

Building on this point, skills such as cooking and dressmaking should not be merely learned from family and friends because they can not give students a comprehensive horizon related to these skills, in light of their busy work. To elaborate, adults are usually busy completing their assignments in the work office, they consequently do not have sufficient time to take care of daily practices in their domestic environment. According to this theory, they are likely to consign these household chores to their children. Schools, thus, are essential to disseminate skills such as cookery and woodwork so that students can successfully fulfill their responsibilities at home. This is because they can not learn that from their friends without knowledge assistance from schools.

To sum up, it is integral to put a significant amount of importance on schools taking responsibility for teaching students soft skills such as cooking, dressmaking and woodwork, for the sake of allowing them to avoid being extremely passive.