Schools help prepare students for academic success and exams. Therefore, cookery, dressmaking and woodwork should not be taught at school, as they can be best taught parents and friends. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People have different views about whether or not schools assisting students for academic success. While it is understandable that vocational subjects — cookery, dressmaking, and woodworking— should offer better conditions for students to learn. I believe that schools should not teach these subjects.

On the one hand, vocational subjects may bring benefits for some students. Firstly, these subjects may bring satisfaction for some students in a way. Students can make their own decisions about whether they study for exams or their future goals. This is because, in schools, students not only learn compulsory subjects but also vocational subjects that may bring good future careers. As a result, when students mainly focus on one subject, they will be masters of this subject if they devote themselves to these skills and subjects.

On the other hand, I believe that the main purpose of studying in schools is an academic reason. To some extent, schools may give invaluable lessons in vocational subjects, but mainly students choose compulsory subjects for applying to prestigious universities. Moreover, students should find their paths through learning mathematics, physics, and geometry as it plays a significant role in one’s life. Thanks to technological advancements studying this subject has improved substantially over the 5 years. In my opinion, schools should primarily focus on compulsory subjects to improve one’s life and also the nation’s condition.

In conclusion, although vocational subjects are viable for some students. Students should solely concentrate on compulsory subjects for the purpose of academic success.