Schools should focus on academic success and passing examinations. Skills such as cookery, dressmaking and woodwork should not be taught at school as it is better to learn these from family and friends. To that extent do you agree or disagree.

Many people argue that academic success and passing examinations should be focused more than practical skills such as cookery, dressmaking and woodworking in schools. In this essay, both sides of this controversial issue will be discussed, and my humble opinion will finally be given.

On the one hand, learning some practical skills at home enables students to know essential life skills. For instance, parents consider it a responsibility to teach their children how to cook meals, knowledge of nutrition and cooking techniques. By learning to prepare their own meals, children gain a deep understanding about nutrition, portion control and some matching food. This promotes physical well-being and healthy lifestyles. It is undeniable that this process should be done in a family where habit form in the long term.

However, school should focus not only on academic learning but also on some livelihood skills because not all the students excel on academic learning. For example, students who struggle with academic subjects might have a natural talent for woodworking. By nurturing their interests and providing opportunities for their interests, students gain a feeling of purpose and accomplishment. Moreover, incorporating such practical skills promotes a well-rounded education for the future.

Having both sides of the issue considered, I strongly believe that schools should prioritize livelihoods skills into curriculum while maintaining the standards of other core subjects. By doing this, students have more opportunities for both academic and practical expertise.