Schools should only offer subjects that are beneficial to students’ future career success. Other subjects, such as music and sports, are not important. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People argued that academic courses are more important to prepare for a career in the future than non-academic activities. The writer disagrees because non-academic activities allow many benefits to pupils. This essay will explain these positive sides of learning non-academic activities.

Nowadays, there are a lot of students who practice music instruments as non-academic activities which provide benefits for them. Playing music allows them to release emotion through music. As a result, pupils have a chance to embrace their emotions which are good for their emotion management. The study found that listening or playing music decreases the stress level. Music supports pupils to overcome their stress in a positive way which proves that music has a positive outcome for students. This stress management will help students to work under pressure and make them have a good resilience.

Furthermore, sport activities, for example basketball, also teach students about social skills. Basketball is a group game that allows students to build teamwork and communications. Pupils have to discuss how to win the game and cooperate with each other. Consequently, pupils are used to coordinate and convey ideas within groups which are very important to boost careers. These skills are essential in the professional field to give them a good career path in the workplace. If students only learn about academic courses, they might lack this skill set that threatens their career future.

From the explanation above, the writer concludes that non-academic also important to be learnt by pupils to support their professional skills, not only academic courses.