Schools should only offer subjects that are beneficial to students’ future career success. Other subjects, such as music and sports, are not important. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In present-day society, it is argued that schools should not offer subjects which do not have a direct impact on future career success of students. In my opinion, the discussed subjects such as music and sports are equally necessary as the other subjects, therefore I strongly disagree with that belief.

More precisely, students need music and sports classes as much as they need the others. For instance, sports satisfy the need for physical activity for students, especially among younger ones. As a consequence of the energy they retain, they find it quite challenging to focus on their other subjects such as mathematics or sciences. For this reason, sports help them to get rid of the supplemental energy. Take a boy who struggles to concentrate on his tests. Because of the high amount of energy he has, he can not help himself but distract his classmates by chit chatting. On the contrary, a sports class scheduled for the first period of the day will calm him down.

Additionally, it is widely recognized that not every student is able to comprehend every subject. Especially, it is ultimately normal if one student has a particular interest in sports or in music and wants to have a career path dedicated to them. Consider the example of famous composers including Robert Schumann, his parents were forcing him to work hard and to be a lawyer, except he had a natural talent for composing. If it was not the music classes he had taken, he would not be discovered.

In conclusion, the non academic subjects the students take can have a life changing impact on them. Therefore they should be encouraged, not canceled.