Scientific developments in farming always bring major benefits. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience

In the last years, the scientific advances had brought major benefits in agriculture to make farming more profitable and softer to farmers. This activity is one of the most important activities for sustaining life in earth providing food and economic growth.

To begin with, scientific advances have showed farmers new opportunities and have taught them how to use new instruments with new machines. The invention of the tractor and the irrigation system were a big step for this sector. The genetically modified seeds were another breakthrough, which made agriculture more sustainable and identical in each vegetable and fruit.

On the other hand, there are some disadvantages of this advance like the use of pesticides on agriculture and the reduction in the use of labor. It is true that the pesticides makes the plants stronger but it contains quimic substances that is bad for health. And by using more machines, and automatic technologies theres no need to have so many workers on a farm, thus, this leads to the increse of the unemployment rate which can affect the country’s economy.

To conclude, there is advantages and disadvantages of the advancement of science in areas such as sustainable farming practicies, reduction in production costs and maket expansion. In my opinion, I agree with the statement because although the bad impact of some scientific advances like the use of pesticides or the excessive use of machines, if happens a world tragedy, this advance can save the world by having food that grow faster and strong.