Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by private companies rather than governments. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

A number of heated debates have been centered on the account of scientific advancement. Some people believe that private companies had better carry on and manage the research instead of letting it depends on the government. Personally, I think this idea has more limitations than benefits, and in this essay, I will justify my view with explanations and examples.

First and foremost, it has to be admitted that the process of developing science-related research in private companies can be markedly efficient. This is because private enterprises are more likely to have higher accessibility to modern technology as many of them dedicate significant resources to the R&D; therefore, they have the ability to enable faster progress in doing scientific research. Moreover, competitions between private companies also drive innovation and creativity, pushing them forward to make progress. The policies in small companies are usually less strict compared to the ones imposed by the government, allowing start-ups to explore new technologies and fields in order to develop their research. As a result, private companies can improve accuracy and success rate of their research and contribute enormously to the development of the society.

However, this idea contains more disadvantages. Firstly, financial problem is one of the most obvious limitations for private companies. It is true that some research requires a huge amount of money to operate, which might be impossible for many non-governmental companies. Therefore, low-income populations might not be able to get access to scientific developments, which hinder the development of the society. Another drawback is about morality and ethical concerns. Many private companies usually prioritize their profit over the public good, so they choose to hold life-saving treatments for higher revenue or sell them expensively, resulting in the inaccessibility of the society to scientific development. Furthermore, small companies might have to deal with safety concerns while operating scientific research. Some companies do their research without any permission from the government; therefore, researchers are barely ensured for their safety, leading to accidents during the process, which may cause injuries and deaths. For that reason, not only does it do harm to people, but it also may not bring out desirable results.

To sum up, while scientific research operated by private companies can be effective due to the advantage in technology development and open restrictions, it is still more disadvantageous than beneficial in terms of financial issues, ethical and safety concerns.