Scientific research should be carried out and controlled by private companies rather than governments. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

Private companies should manage scientific research rather than governmental administrations. This essay will outline how the greater funding and higher professionalism of specialists are beneficial, while the risk of fake results is a minor concern.

One of the major advantages is that private sectors are able to allocate more money into the investigations. Unlike governments, such companies do not have to divide their budget between an areas such as education, healthcare and safety of citizens. Also, the inventions done by them are sold to governments or other campaigns, increasing the sources of income. As a result, they can invest large amounts of money into specific projects. To illustrate, space exploration requires the newest technologies with extremely high cost and private companies can provide enough money for the realization without relying completely on taxes. Furthermore, large budget allows them to afford highly-qualified scientists. For instance, an experienced researcher would prefer to work for place with more benefits. Therefore, private sector can conduct research with better equipment and expertise.

On the other hand, there is a concern that private companies can give wrong information. It is a common practice when the outcomes of the scientific research are found to be inaccurate or incomplete. However, it does not depend on the privateness, even the governments might change the data in pursuit of profit. Thus, the problem is everyone’s responsibility and requires global regulations.

In conclusion, scientific research carried out by private companies offers advantages in higher investment and more qualified experts, which outweigh the drawbacks such as incorrect results.