Scientists and technology experts seem to be more valued by modern society than musicians and artists. To what extent do you agree?

In the landscape of the contemporary world, experts in the field of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) are oftentimes regarded superiorly compared to experts in music and arts. While this topic is still up for discussion, I contend that professional STEM careers are indeed more valuable in the modern age compared to the latter.

The primary reason for this is scientists’ ability to solve global issues through novel breakthroughs in research. The world’s most pressing issues require a deeper understanding of our surrounding material, biology, and technology which can only be done effectively by scientists and technology experts. Through research, innovations like the portable desalination module could exist to solve persisting modern problems such as water crises in remote locations around the globe.

Inventing ways to increase efficiency is another reason why STEM specialists are placated in the contemporary industry. In recent times, the mastery of technology has become inseparable from the ability to reduce cost and increase efficacy. This race for advancement has led firms and organizations to pay high wages for STEM majors who could improve the efficiency of their system.

On the contrary, it is crucial to highlight the vital role of artists in preserving human expression. Even though engineers have created artificial intelligence (AI) and robots with ingenious capabilities, none have been able to replicate human arts. This is the reason why even AI companies are seeking creative directors, musicians, and linguists who are essential to provide the human touch that many technologies lack.

With the evolution of modern societal needs, STEM experts provide immense value through their ability to innovate solutions to global issues and improve system efficiency. However, artists and creative minds play a strategic role in preserving human expression amidst the wave of new machines and robotics. It is my firm belief that humanity will need both to lead the world to a more prosperous future.