Scientists believe that obesity in people has increased. People believe that education can help to reduce this problem, but others believe that education has no significant role. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Recently, obesity has become a widespread health issue among humans, which has sparked a heated debate. Some people suggest that education is effective in alleviating obesity, yet it is argued by others that it is of little significance. While I acknowledge the usefulness of education on obesity, I still contend that this measure alone is inadequate, and alternative methods are needed.

On one hand, preparing people with knowledge about obesity can produce several effective outcomes. Firstly, once people gain a fair level of understanding about the detrimental long-term effects of obesity, they will develop a sense of prevention, thereby seeking different useful actions in order to avoid this disease. For instance, numerous schools over the world have implemented several educational campaigns aimed at parents and children, which focus on the adverse impacts of obesity on health, as well as providing efficacious preventive guides. This way, the number of obesity cases can be reduced considerably by enhancing public awareness. If people are not properly equipped with sufficient understanding about obesity, the absurdity in their eating habits can increase the risks of being obese, which eventually deteriorates their overall well-being.

On the other hand, I am in favor of the fact that education alone cannot be an optimal solution. Obesity is often associated with the increasing unhealthy intake such as fast food, junk food, or sugary one, which offers rapidity and affordability in such a rushing world. For this reason, a vast number of people may defend against a shift in eating habits, which would come with a disruption of schedules and undesirable changes in spending. Alternatively, I suggest two potential measures for the government to take, including imposing higher taxes on unhealthy food producers and restricting advertisements of these foods. Both these methods may lessen the production and distribution of unhealthy products among the public, which can accordingly hinder the development of the detrimental eating habits, thereby lowering the risks of obesity.

In conclusion, education does play a role in alleviating the intensity of obesity, by promoting people’s awareness of this disease. However, I am convinced that a change in awareness alone can be ineffective, given people’s reluctance to change. It is my recommendation that the authority should increase the taxes for unhealthy food manufacturers, while also limiting advertising on these foods.