Globalization has led to the loss of cultural identity in many countries. Do you agree or disagree.

Against the current backdrop of globalization, one line of thought highlights that this trend is eroding cultural diversity. While this can be true to a certain extent, I personally believe that globalization is not inherently detrimental and it can counterintuitively yield the opposite outcomes.

Proponents base their argument on the premise that globalization necessitates cultural assimilation in order to promote social harmony between a wide range of citizens. This means that a variety of cultures will be integrated into each other to create a standardized culture that could potentially avoid or mitigate the problems stemming from intercultural conflicts or confrontation. During this process, powerful cultures are likely to assert their dominance over local ones, leading to the erosion of lesser-known cultures. Illustrations of this can be seen in countries such as Indonesia where people, especially the younger generations, usually prefer global fashion trends and mainstream forms of entertainment like Anime and Hollywood movies to traditional costumes and recreational activities.

Nevertheless, I would argue that sustainable globalization can conversely serve as a facilitator of raising cultural awareness rather than impeding it. To elaborate, governments and similar institutions can take advantage of the increasing prevalence of cultural exchange to foster the appreciation for other foreign values while cultivating public pride in local ones through educational campaigns and other initiatives. Not only can this enhance public knowledge and cultivate a positive attitude towards various cultures but it can also nurture a sense of cultural identity, helping people to realize the distinct value of their own cultures. This can also generate a ripple effect among communities, which can culminate in a collective effort to preserve indigenous values and maintain global diversity.

To summarize, while globalization may induce cultural homogenization in the interests of a harmonious society, it is also capable of reversing this effect by promoting widespread appreciation for other values and a sense of cultural pride. Perhaps, the outcome globalization brings about is contingent upon the measures and decisions we take.