Scientists predict in the near future cars will be driven by computers, not people. Why? Do you think it is a positive or negative development? of this development outweigh t

It is expected that computers could drive automobiles in the near future instead of humans. From my perspective, the state of affairs can be attributed to several reasons, and this essay aims to pinpoint both the benefits and drawbacks of this development before concluding that it is negative.

It is possibly said that the prediction for the development of driverless cars in the future might be caused by various factors. A main prominent reason concerning this trend is that the increasing traffic accidents and congestion has occurred in many parts of the world, provoking governments and scientists to consider possible solutions to tackle these problems; thus, the advent of automated automobiles has been forecasted to be a feasible answer. This is the fact that driverless cars are programmed to get rid of human errors when drivers, for example, are sleepy or drunk. As a result, by using automated automobiles, people could alleviate the number of accidents and congestion.

It is fathomable why scientists extol the opinion that automobiles are no longer performed by humans due to its benefits. The major benefit is that if people utilize driverless cars, they could get more done without being tired as they still have time to do other interests such as reading books, listening to music, or working while traveling; thereby, they could enhance work productivity. However, I am convinced that the aforementioned upsides pale in comparison with the significant downsides of this trend. This is the fact that self-driving cars are just programmed machines which means that there are still possibilities of them getting out of order so that accidents in this case are somehow even as fatal as those made by human mistakes. As well as this, when people are too reliant on the automated automobiles, it also means that there is little potential that people will have driver’s licenses; thus, they could encounter unnecessary troubles if the autopilot modes are not working.

In conclusion, the expectation of driverless cars in the near future can be ascribed to the rise of traffic accidents and congestion, and although this trend presents certain advantages , I still believe that the disadvantages of it, such as getting out of control or coming across unnecessary problems, are more significant.