Scientists predict that in the future cars will be driven by computers. What are the reasons behind this? Is it a positive or negative development?

In the coming years, experts believe that vehicles will be driven autonomously by computers. The main reason for this is the advancements in artificial intelligence that specialise in manoeuvring cars. This should be seen as a positive development because it will prevent accidents and save lives.

In the past few years, the world has seen marvellous improvements in the automobile industry due to AI. Advanced computer learning means that cars and other vehicles can move from point A to point B without the need for human interference. Due to the nature of these self-learning computers, the more they drive, the better they become, and this will soon mean that it will be quite normal for people to be driven by computers. For example, Google, Tesla, and Apple all have autonomous driving projects, with Tesla announcing that all of its vehicles will be self-driving within 5 years.

This should be welcomed because, despite some initial safety concerns, it will ultimately save lives. This is because most collisions are due to human error, and when AI takes over driving, there will be zero human involvement. This will mean that incidents such as drink driving, falling asleep at the wheel, and speeding will become a thing of the past. For instance, Elon Musk of Tesla Motors announced that its ‘Auto Pilot’ system could run over 10 million miles with only one accident. Similar distances with people driving would have resulted in far more road traffic accidents.

In conclusion, the blessing of computer-controlled transportation will lead to driving cars without any human assistance and should be viewed positively, as it will improve safety standards.