Scientists say that in the future humanity will speak the same language. Do you think this is a positive or negative social development?

It is believed that human now are encouraged to use a global language for communication. While some people may worry that this trend may pose a threat to national identity. From my point of view, I neither completely agree nor disagree with this statement for a variety of reasons.

On the one hand, the idea of using a common language is beneficial to some extend. First and foremost, speaking the same language helps lift up the language barriers. This is because it not only facilitates international activities ranging from tourism to commerce, but also acts as a precursor for economic growth of each country in the world. Another reason is when human use a predominant language, it can result in fewer misunderstandings caused by dissimilarities in dialects. This can be exemplified in case of it may bridge the gap between diverse communities as well as form a global village in which people can live in harmony with each other.

Furthermore, using a unniversal dialect may be useful for those who could work for multinational businesses, travel around the world without encountering any difficulties in communication.

On the other hand, I contend that the above positive impacts are negated by potential problems. Primarily, a language represents local people’s way of thinking and way of life as well as the history of the region where a language is spoken. Therefore, the disappearance of minor languages can cause the loss of cultural identity and historical values, which creates the richness in human life. In addition, speaking the same language is likely to pose a threat to minority language. According to BBC article, last century, some 400 languages have become extinct, that means one language is vanished every three months. Fifty percent of all remaining languages are on the verge of disappearance in the next century. This is because of the fact that nowadays, native speakers are believed that learning to speak a global language will bring to them some great opportunities for their careers like employment, education and overall success.

In conclusion, although the trend of speaking the same language presents certain merits, I contend that it should not be encouraged due to its negative effects on social development.