Shopping has become a favorite pastime among young people. Why do you think it is like that, and do you think they must be encouraged to do other things rather than shopping?

In the contemporary society, shopping prevailes upon other types of leisure activities, especially among the young people, what provokes a considerable debate around this topic. This essay aims to point out the most significant reasons for developing of this trend as well as discuss the alternative activities.

To begin with, consuming nature of shopping makes people addicted to that, as pointless purchasing brings us a short lasting relief after that we desire to possess more. Likewise, social media in couple with fashion play a role of the forcing power of this system, therefore the teenagers, as the target auditory of trends in the internet, is the most addicted social group. Shopping is their instrument for demonstrating themselves and intigrating in the society, what is a substantial socializing element for the adolscence. For example, following the new trends and going for a shopping they build many new bonds satisfying the need in communication.

On the other hand, the same requirements in socializing can be satisfied through another more useful persuits, such as outdoor activities, educational courses, or doing sport. The drawbacks of shopping outweigh significantly the benefits, as it demands a large expenditures on time and financial resources, while providing nothing but stress of being in the crowded shopping center. However, helping the family with housekeeping or participating in some volunteer programs enreaches the individual’s mind and experience inpiring the person not only to satisfy the own ego but also to contribute to the prosperity of one’s personality.

In conclusion, the huge number of the advertisements alongside with social media provoke people waste their resources not being satisfied. However, only the activity which increases the well-being of other people is able to guarantee the deep sense of happiness.