Shopping is the favourite free time activity for many young people today. Why do you think this has happened? Should young people be encouraged to do different activities in their free time rather than shopping?

A number of youths in recent times prefer to spend their leisure time shopping. The factors responsible for this change includes the establishment of newer attention-grabbing malls and supermarkets, in addition to the advancement in technology, which has made online buying a commonplace among young people. Other engagements, such as reading, sports and music, should be kindled among them instead of shopping.

To begin, patronizing shops; both physical and online, during free time has become a habit for a plethora of youngsters inasmuch as there are numerous newly-unveiled shopping plazas that entice them. Even though travelling to markets can be draining financially and stressful, young folks now find it easy to make purchases from their homes owing to recent advancements in technology. A good illustration to drive this point home is provided by the study done in UK in 2021 that revealed that it takes an average of 5 minutes to complete an online purchase. Consequently, a good number of people now prefer to buy their goods via the internet.

Furthermore, activities such as reading, recreation and music have been validated to be rewarding since they are beneficial if practiced daily as lifestyles. Reading and music should be made captivating for young individuals to the end that they adopt them to replace the practice of excessive shopping. For instance, parents can reward their children with incentives anytime they completely read a portion of a book or carry out certain sporting activities such as running and swimming.

The bottom line is that shopping has become a popular youthful obsession due to technological advancement and the allurement of new shops. If parents and guardians would buckle down and motivate their children to invest time in reading, recreation and music, the issue of addiction to shopping will be addressed.