Shopping is the favourite pastime for most of the young people. Why do you think is that? Do you think they should be engaged to do some other useful activities?

Nowadays, shopping has become a popular way of spending leisure time for youngsters. Numerous reasons are behind this popular tend such as massive endorsement of advertisement industry, however, this growing trend has its own drawbacks in terms of purchasing unnecessary stuffs and developing addiction to shopping.

It is widely recognized that the advertisement industry plays a crucial role in propelling individuals toward activities including purchasing. In another word, constant exposure of individuals, especially young adults, to various goods by media, has yield a desire to purchase them; it has reached to a point that shopping has become a popular way of spending pastime for many. For instance, numerous youngsters, under the influence of media, prefer to spend a considerable amount of their spare time in the shopping malls where their favorite actor endorse visiting.

However, this practice has several drawbacks especially in terms of people’s economy and mental health. Moreover, individuals who spend considerable times in shopping, often end up in buying stuff, that they did not want to. Not only can this practice render economic struggles, but it also can inhibit them to perform more effective tasks in their free time. Furthermore, someone who excessively visits shopping center may find shopping, soothing and develop an addiction over time, another significant issue regarding this trend.

In conclusion, I believe that media and advertisement industry have provoked individuals to spend their leisure time for shopping. This practice has several negative impacts on individuals lives such as developing an addiction for shopping and ending up purchasing items which are not necessary.