Shops are now open throughout the day. Is it a positive or negative for locals and shop markets themselves

Increasingly more shops are now open for long hours. This trend might pose particular drawbacks for shop owners because of extra work and bills; I, however, view this as a positive change in terms of more availability for locals and better income for markets themselves in the long run.

On the one hand, operating over an entire day can be cause unnecessary expenditure and maintenance for markets. This is because long open hours spontaneously lead to noticeably increased use of utilities and staff shifts. For instance, a shop that is open 24/7 usually work in three shifts, one shift longer than regular counterparts that operate over two-third of the day, and need to pay more salary for their employees. Besides, the markets in question significantly utilize more electricity, water and other type of maintenance sources that are necessary to preserve their goods in appropriate sale condition. As a result, rising expenditures become inevitable even though their revenue might not experience notable rise, since switching to 24/7 does not necessarily guarantee growth in customer quantity.

On the other hand, I personally believe that longer open hours provide greater availability, and, possibly, growing income for shops. The reason why I think so is that more people are able to go shopping regardless the part of the day they want to visit the shops. For example, locals who work during the day usually have time to buy groceries only in the evening or early in the morning, and that’s when shops that are open throughout the day come very helpful for them. Consequently, rise in customers directly boost the income of the shops which will compensate for higher expenses for the maintenance. Needless to say, all-day shops are frequently more preferred option by locals as they usually provide wider range of products. Customers also do not have to wait for opening and concern about closing hours while shopping.

In conclusion, while running shops over the entire day might grow the expenses for shop owners, it eventually contributes to improved income, greater availability and preference because of the rise in customer numbers.