Should children go to nursery school prior to their primary studies? Share personal examples in your essay, if applicable.

In most countries today, the decision to send toddlers to preschools before elementary education has sparked debate. While some parents believe that the nursery’s role has imperative benefits for their dependents, others, including psychologists, have a different view. I share the latter view as the parent-child relationship is pivotal at this age. This essay will discuss how essential skills could be developed in addition to the family’s role in these crucial years.

Firstly, children can acquire a new one by monitoring their parents, grandparents, or siblings. This means if a parent wishes to teach his toddler the importance of “sharing” as a concept, a small role play held by the family members can serve this aim. For instance, in my family home, my cousin taught her 2-year-old child how sharing toys with others would make us happy. Accordingly, we all took part in this play, and he started to do this willingly. After a couple of years, his school sent an appreciation letter to his mom mentioning that the boy excelled at this skill perfectly, and he got a crown for being kind. Thus, motivating the very young to attend a preschool may not be as positive as many think.

Secondly, it is argued that although most infants are 1.5 to 2 years old, most nurseries insist on applying academic curricula, which is not beneficial for them. For instance, a recent study conducted by UNICEF revealed that social and emotional skills should be instilled at this age through various outdoor and exploring activities, which will motivate the growth of their cognitive skills.

To conclude, it can be reiterated that attending preschool is not pivotal for toddlers. I believe any trait could be taught by a family member within the home environment. It is hoped that parents recognize that childhood development extends beyond the classroom.