Should education and healthcare be free of charge and funded by the government, or should it be the responsibility of the people to pay for these services?

It is irrefutable that a country’s growth largely depends on how educated and healthy its citizens are. The burgeoning population and the lack of funds often make it harder for the authority to bear the expenses of their needs, especially in education, housing and treatment. I believe that an effective solution would be to divide the expenditures between the government and the individuals.

To begin with, education, nowadays, plays a vital role in the development of a society. Not only it creates job opportunities, but also help people become aware of the socio-economic issues of the country. Making education free till the age of 18 would encourage the pupils to finish at least their secondary education. For instance, the percentage of student enrollment in schools in 2011 in my country increased by 19% than that of 2009, and it was because the government exempted fees for students in these classes.

Moreover, the healthcare system can also be improved by providing either health insurance or schemes that cover a minimum of 50 per cent of the cost. Thus people would not feel that healthcare is expensive while the government would not need to bear the expenses alone. A healthier nation can help the country achieve greater heights as citizens in such countries are more productive. Consequently, economic growths will get bolstered and the government would be able to become self-reliant.

To conclude, with the implementation of the said measures there would be no burden on either the government or individuals. Both the government and individuals can go hand in hand to cope with this and build an enlightened and healthy nation.