Should long-term job seekers in receipt of government benefits be made to do voluntary work so that they give something back to the community?

As unemployment rises within Canada, the government has offered their support to long-term job seekers. Some people became over-dependent on the benefits that they are unable to progress their job search. A discussion was made; should long-term job seekers be made to engage in voluntary community work. In my opinion, they should be encouraged to give back, but not forced.

From my personal experience, volunteering is a great help to people who are looking for work. Not only it helps you engage with your community, it also expands your connection network. And as you give more to the community, good impressions to the right people can help you land jobs within your industry. They might be more willing to offer you a reference, or perhaps let you know about upcoming opportunities.

But from others’ perspectives, the lack of income really drives them away from volunteering. In a way, it is completely understandable. I find many people to be very passionate about earning money. Being forced to work without pay, would make the experience way worse than what it could be. In addition, companies can exploit the workforce behind close doors. Before we can apply this concept of forcing people to volunteer, we will need to ensure that the volunteers are safe and informed.

In conclusion, I believe that job seekers should be encouraged, but not forced, to engage more in community work. Through offering them different volunteer options around their area and listing benefits, I hope that we are able to persuade more students and professionals to participate in community activities.