Smoking can cause serious illnesses and should be made illegal. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s interconnected world, smoking is gaining popularity day-by-day, which is why it can be argued that smoking should be banned and considered as not legal based on maintaining overall well-being. From my point of view, while it should be prohibited due to people’s rights, I believe this trend may appear beneficial in terms of health.

To begin with, proponents of keeping smoking legal cite various reasons for their stance. One of the driving forces behind why smoking is not illegal is that governments have no such a law to restrict individuals’ rights. In other words, if authorities give a chance to stop smoking among public, this will have a huge devastating effect on people’s freedom, thereby meaning that the decision to smoke ought not to be controlled by government, but by individuals. In addition to this, government’s role is to advise citizens against harmful practices, so we cannot introduce a new law for the prohibition of cigarettes in order to protect humans’ rights to make decisions. It can therefore be said that authorities should take people’s freedom into account before banning smoking process between population.

Nevertheless, despite the arguments above, I still support this idea to make smoking illegal associated with improving public health. That is, it is obviously clear that smoking is known to have an adverse impact on smokers’ health, having a detrimental effect on the functions of organs, particularly lung, cardiovascular systems, and so on, in turn. As a result of this, those who smoke a lot could not live longer owing to several diseases mentioned above, also smokers can harm others with a greater quantity of toxic fumes. For instance, according to recent statistical information, in Uzbekistan, more than 3% of people passed away as they smoked so much over the last 5 years. Moreover, smoking is also the main contributory factor for social discrimination, meaning that when people see a person who smokes, they will try to avoid this person, in turn. Consequently, the smokers will have to be alone and no-one wants to make friends with them so as to maintain their well-being , which results in loss of reputation among public and smoking a lot again and again in the light of fury. Thus, I think government should put legal pressure on the smokers so that we will have opportunities to enhance public health and curb the growth of social discrimination in society.

In conclusion, for the reasons mentioned above, it seems to me that even though the decision to ban smoking hinders citizens’ freedom, it would be better because the restriction of smoking could bring about numerous advantages in terms of reduction in social discrimination and improvement in public health.