Smoking not only harms the smoker, but also those who are nearby. Therefore, smoking should be banned in public places.

It is a common believe usually engaged in by a large major of people that smoking is bad for your health. Whether you may argue about how smoking is the best way to relieve your stress, I strongly agree with this statement that smoking should be banned in the public spaces as it affects the health of the nonsmokers and causes the public to unneedfully be uncomfortable.

Smoking is a serious health hazard first and foremost. But scientific research repeatedly confirms that just inhaling smoke from cigarettes raises the risk of lung cancer, heart disease and respiratory problems. Given that vulnerable groups like pregnant women and the elderly, as well as children are the greatest risk of being impacted with these health impacts, their seriousness increases. For example, when I was a baby, my father would sometimes smoke next to me. as I got older, this exposure to secondhand smoke led to me becoming diagnosed with pneumonia. This personal case shows us what passive smoking does to you in time, and it emphasizes the urgency to tackle the cause of cigarette smoke.

Banning smoking in public is infringing on the individual freedom, which critically challenging. Personal freedom is important but can’t be at the expense of others’ health and wellbeing. The right to smoke does not trump the right of others to breathe clean air and live enfettered by health risk exposed to by the smoke of those who kill, maim, cause disease, and are pure menace to all causes of death from noninfectious causes.

In conclusion, smoking in public places should be banned to protect the health and comfort of all non-smokers. A public smoking ban would create a healthier community and ensure that public spaces are enjoyable for everyone.