Smoking not only harms the smoker, but also those who are nearby. Therefore, smoking should be banned in public places. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Smoking could harm the individual that does it alongside with people around them. There are already lots of regulations among countries that prohibits smoking in public places such as in, bus, train station, government offices, etc. I strongly agree with these propositions and even if possible, I demand more strict implementations of them.

In my own country, Indonesia is one of the country with a high number of population that smokes. No matter where they are, the adults particularly men above the age of 20, they always puff that nicotine without thinking about the impact on the others. I have an uncle with severe lung problem, he was unfortunately constantly surrounded by smokers as his profession requires him to discuss a lot of complicated topics days and nights, his lung problems never heal fully because of this situation, it is a dilemma as he can’t always warn or remind his colleagues about his condition.

That was not my main problem against these smokers though. I have a physical problems myself that is believed, thanks to the work of smokers around me and my biological father that smoke cigar himself. I have a rare autoimmune disease and also partially colorblind, these personal negative experiences with cigarette, scar me more than average people would toward cigarette.

To summarize, yes, I would strongly agree to keep and even enhance the regulations when it comes to ban smoking in public places.