Social media does more harms than good do you agree or disagree?

In recent decades, the rapid expansion of social media has sparked debate over whether this development does more significantly harm than good to both individuals and society. In my opinion, I strongly disagree that the extensive popularity of social networks has a negative influence on users and society.

It is irrefutable that social media has a negative impact on individuals, especially those who are children or teenagers. Online platforms offer various forms of entertainment such as making friends or making Tiktok videos, which easily capture the attention of younger generations. As a result, they become overly absorbed in these activities and gradually reduce their concentration on some important aspects such as family, friends or other relationships. However, this issue can be solved by limiting the amount of time spent on online platforms. Restricting the use of social media can help children concentrate on things such as study or bond with friends. This solution not only alleviates the addiction of children but also strengthens bonds around them. Furthermore, social media provides employees with convenience and efficiency, which means that workers may rely heavily on available information rather than contribute their personal values to companies. As a result, overreliance on social networks can discourage creativity among employees, leading to a reduction in productivity of individuals and economic stagnation in the working environment.

However, I am of the opinion that the widespread advancement of social networks is ultimately conducive to overall well-being improvement within the family and the sustainable development of the community. Many individuals choose to work far away from home because of career promotion potentials and well-paid jobs. Such situations become social platforms useful for those as they do not have to spend long hours going back. Instead of this, social networks play a crucial role in directly connecting them with their families through a screen. On a wider scale, the excessive use of social media fosters cohesion of communities. This is because social media offers not only instant information but also new relationships that create a chance for cultural exchange. The connection with other communities in the world through traditional customs and culture understanding may enhance the bonds between these ties and appreciate different cultures.

In conclusion, social media platforms undeniably have their downsides, most notably psychological concerns. Nevertheless, these drawbacks pale in comparison with the substantial advantages of social media, including interpersonal connectivity and social cohesion.