Large businesses have big budgets for marketing and promotion and as a result, people gravitate towards buying their products. What problems does this cause? What could be done to encourage people to buy local products?

Amidst the unprecedented level of economic development in modern society, large companies expend huge sums of money on commercials to attract customers. Both advantageous and detrimental effects are derived from the aforementioned matter, which will be discussed in the following essay along with some suggestions on how to incentivize people to purchase local products.

At the outset, the above strategy will impact the commodity market. Small or local bussinesses are inferior and less appealing to buyers compare to their big competitors, which subsequently lead to a decrease in customer counts for those dealerships, creating an imbalance in the market. Furthermore, large companies will not always promote high-quality products and provide righteous information in their advertisements, entailing multiple problems for consumers. Since many huge companies reach a wide range of customers through their excessive marketing, they tend to put up false advertisements to trick consumers into buying their poor-quality but extravagantly-advertised products.

On the other hand, people cannot deny some benefits that the matter brings about. As long as consumers are able to distinguish between authentic and false advertisements, they can easily purchase high-quality products from large dealerships. Moreover, the promotion of big companies’ products can act as a guide and model for other future bussinesses to thrive for better merchandises, creating constructive rivalry in the market.

It is also crucial for people to promote small or local products when big companies are mass-producing their campaigns. To start off, individuals can create a chain customer tendency by uploading photos of their favorite local restaurants or shops on social platforms. This is an effective and effortless way to encourage people to try out small yet high-quality stores. Furthermore, the government should implement more regulations to facilitate the development of smaller companies while not impeding the growth of larger companies.

To summarize, notwithstanding the matter’s benefical aspects, many harmful problems are brought about due to the phenomenon. As a result, people should become smart consumers while trying their best to support local bussinesses to reach a wider range of customers.