Social media influencers have too much power over young people. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In contemporary society the issue of social media in online content creators have an overly disproportionate impact on the younger generation has sparked considerable debate. Although it is often argued that they impact negatively to youth personalities, I am firmly of the opinion that online role models paves the way to achise goals, as the long-term consequences of this trend extend far beyond individual preferences and have profound societal implications.

On the one side public figures on social networking platforms shape young people’s attitudes and behavior in the wrong way. Nowadays there are numerous adolescents who always follow social media role model’s life and argue with their parents about purchasing trendy items, clothes or others. They do without knowing role models frequently showcase perfect lifestyle, luxury or body image. Additionally, another negative consequence is constant comparison with digital opinion leaders’ curated lives can contribute to anxiety, depression and low self-esteem among youth.

On the other side it causes to build community. They create online communities where young people feel heard, supported and connected especially those who feel isolated in real life. Furthermore, there are various positive role models.

Some influencers promote discipline, self-development and healthy habits encouraging teenagers to set goals and improve themselves.

To conclude taking everything into consideration I think social media users plays pivotal role in developing negative personality traits.