Society is based on rules and laws. It could not function if individuals were free to do whatever they wanted. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, no one can deny the immense value of knowledge due to the benefits it has brought to the children. In light of this phenomenon, some people hold that watching TV is an effective way to learn both at home and at school. Personally, I completely disagree with this viewpoint.

The first and foremost reason that can be argued is that television viewing can interfere with children’s studies and other activities which can benefit their development. Without the guidance and supervision from parents or teachers, children tend to watch their favorite entertainment programs for a rather long period of time. Students who watch television frequently may not be able to concentrate on learning tasks, a problem which can lead to poor grades. It is also difficult for them to attend those interactive activities which promote brain development, such as reading, singing and sports.

Another reason that can be taken into account is that excessive screen time can affect children’s health. They sit in front of a screen for many hours every day, instead of playing games and doing sports with peers. They tend to/likely to suffer from obesity, poor eyesight and fatigue. Because of this, they do not have energy to cope with the demand of schooling and lose self-confidence over time.

In conclusion, I am still convinced by the viewpoint that people should strictly set limitation of the time of TV viewing. This can be basically attributed to the fact that watching television can have an adverse impact on children’s grades and cause several physical problems.