Some argue that a single global language should be taught in all schools. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some individuals are of the view that when it comes to teaching languages, teaching only a specific language can be more beneficial for both educators and students in learning journey. In this essay, I would discuss both of the schools of thoughts before proposing my own opinion.

When considering the positive impacts on educational system of teaching only a single global language, two factors emerge. From the educator’s perspective, when focusing on a single language, it can be a save of time for educators to design their curricula and organise teaching training courses for different languages, allowing them to spend more time enhancing their teaching skills to make the lessons become more engaging or developing their curricula to contribute to improving the students’ academic performance. For example, when educators are required to attend only one teaching training programs for a single language, they can spend more time learning to add more integrated activities, such as role-play activities, improving the efficiency of the language learning. From the student’s perspective, when students are not obliged to learn many languages, they can be less stressed, leading to the reduction in academic pressure. To illustrate, learning different foreign languages means that students have to accomplish a heavier loads of assignments, potentially making them feel overwhelmed and losing their interests in learning languages.

On the other hand, I firmly believe that it is impossible to deny the benfits of teaching a wide range of foreign languages instead of teaching only one. This is because language often associate with a nation’s culture and history, learning different language can generate prospects for students to explore foreign cultures and traditions, thereby broaden their worldview. Furthermore, languages can be considered as a measure to decide and distinguish national identity, without the differences among languages, people cannot own the unique features to identify their nation. Another reason why teaching more than one language can be more beneficial is job opportunities. When students can access various languages, they can choose one of them as a future major and work as interpreters or language teachers after graduating, thereby potentially reducing the levels of unemployment of a country.

In conclusion, it can be understandable that many people are proponents of teaching a single global language for all school due to the save of time for educators and the reduction in academic pressure for students. However, in my opinion, it can be more beneficial for people to learn different languages because students can broaden their horizons by exploring different culture s and traditions.