Some argue that a single global language should be taught in all schools. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Some people argue that all schools should teach a single global language, while others believe that local languages should continue to play a central role in education. Although a common international language offers numerous practical benefits, I believe it should be taught alongside local languages rather than replacing them.

On the one hand, teaching a global language in all schools would provide numerous advantages. A common language might facilitate communication between people from different countries, making international business, tourism and education more efficient. Furthermore, students would gain easier access to academic resources which are available in widely spoken language English. As a result, they may enjoy better educational and employment opportunities in an increasingly globalised world.

For those opponents, focusing on common language may threaten linguistic diversity. Language is part of cultural identity and in each contains history, tradition and the cultural mindset and reducing the use of local language could gradually weaken our mother tongue and lead to our traditional values might be lost over time. In addition, many minority languages are already endangered, and concentrating on a single global language may accelerate their disappearance. Nevertheless, I believe these concerns can be addressed by teaching a global language as a second language while continuing to preserve local language in school.

In conclusion, a global language should be taught because of its practical benefits, however, it should serve as a complementary language rather than replace local and regional languages.