Some argue that a single global language should be taught in all schools. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have different views regarding the idea of introducing a single global language into the school curricula. While some people raise valid concerns about cultural loss and inequality, I contend that the benefits of teaching a shared universal language outweigh the drawbacks.

On the one hand, those who oppose this idea often highlight the tread it poses to linguistic and cultural diversity. The language is not only the tool for communication, it is the medium that reflects the culture, history and the notion behind those languages. Therefore, if everyone learns and uses the same language, the traditional languages are potentially abandoned, resulting in the local identity loss. For example, if schools prioritise a single language, the minority languages may fall into disguise, eroding the cultural heritage of communities worldwide.

On the other hand, despite the above concerns, the case for a universal language in education is compelling. A shared medium of communication dramatically reduces the language barriers and also provides equal opportunities among the students. For instance, learning a globally recognized language provides access to international academic sources such as textbooks, professional commentaries and online teaching videos, which results in an equal education Consequently, this guarantees the students’ equal opportunity in the future career regardless of their background.

In conclusion, although some people oppose the idea of introducing merely a single universal language in the schools because of the cultural erosion, I maintain that advantages of teaching a shared universal language, such as equal education and career opportunity for global citizens outweigh its disadvantages.