TASK 2: In the past, people used to travel abroad to look for many differences from their home country. Nowadays, cities throughout the world are becoming more and more similar. What are the reasons? Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In the past, individuals travelled to foreign countries to look for differences from their country but in today’s world, many cities around the world are losing their uniqueness and becoming more and more similar. While globalization and the adaption of Western urban design are the main reasons behind this trend, I believe that the positive sides of this shift outweigh the disadvantages.

One primary reason why cities throughout the world are becoming more and more similar is globalization. Many people nowadays embrace the lifestyle and fashion of Western societies, fading the uniqueness of certain cultural traditions and heritage. This trend is also evident in many city layouts around the world, where high-rise buildings, skyscrapers, and design of buildings in many countries resemble the appearance of western countries, making an impression on visitors as they are not far away from their home. Tashkent, the capital city of Uzbekistan, is a pertinent example, where people’s lifestyle and city layouts used to give the impression of eastern cultural heritage and traditions.

One disadvantage of this tendency is that it can lead to loss of cultural heritage and traditions. Values like respecting the elderly, a sense of responsibility in both workplaces and at home, the importance of following the guidance of parents and mentors are fading globally due to globalization, leading to the loss of cultural uniqueness in many societies. Similarly, traditional architectural styles are also being replaced by modern designs, affecting people’s connection to past generations and cultural heritage. Olma Ota, one of the ancient cities in Kazakhstan, for example, has almost lost its uniqueness and historical touch, which has become one of the modern cities in Central Asia.

I, however, believe that the advantages of this movement are more significant, Firstly, it can improve living standards and the design of cities. Futuristic design, a wide range of skyscrapers, and European architectural styles add to the beauty of the design, making a lasting impression on visitors and attract more tourists as well. In addition, the construction of restaurants, cafes, hotels, and recreational facilities which can give the Western environment not only allow individuals to enjoy their lives but also give a sense of satisfaction and fulfillment. Bishkek, the capital city of Kyrgyzstan, for instance, exemplifies a city where population can feel a sense of happiness and fulfillment thanks to the city’s design resembling the western architecture.

In conclusion, while globalization and the global shift towards European architectural design are the main reasons behind this trend, I believe that the advantages of this movement are more significant.