TASK 2: In the past, people used to travel abroad to look for many differences from their home country. Nowadays, cities throughout the world are becoming more and more similar. What are the reasons? Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

There is a growing trend in which urban areas around the world are becoming more and more similar. While this shift can be largely attributed to the globalization, I personally regard it as predominantly advantageous, especially in terms of comfort and better international relationships.

One compelling reason why numerous cities look alike to each other can be attributed to the increased international trade, investment, and globalization. With many global companies are investing in different major and minor cities, they also bring their designs of workplaces, offices, and buildings. The consequences of this are not only confined to increased resemblance in the infrastructure of urban areas, but also extend to similar working and living standards, thereby promoting equality in many areas of life in underdeveloped countries like developed ones. This can be exemplified by Thailand, where many buildings and skyscrapers resemble the style and design of Western countries. This, in turn, not only made Thailand an awesome hub for tourists but also played a role in the rise of foreign direct investment. Therefore, the globalization can be the most driving factor behind why urban homogenization is becoming common in many parts of the globe.

However, I firmly believe that this trend can bring more substantial benefits, one of which is risen comfort levels among tourists. Since more and more buildings and city infrastructure are similar, travelers find it easy to navigate through the city and will not face problems frequently. Consequently, this not only reduces the chances of facing culture shock, but also increases the number of tourists to the city areas, thereby boosting the local economy in wide-ranging ways. In this regard, I do presume that this shift indeed engenders more favorable outcomes.

In conclusion, improved worldwide relations can be a primary factor why the urban homogenization is happening across the globe, I am more convinced that the benefits – notably the increased comfort – are far more profound and ultimately outnumber the perceived drawbacks.