Some argue that economic progress and environmental sustainability are mutually exclusive. Discuss both viewpoints and express your opinion.

In an era of rapid development, the issue of safeguarding sustainability has become increasingly pertinent. While some argue that economic advancement and environmental sustainability are irrelevant to each other, others contend economic progression correlates with environmental development with each other. This essay will discuss both perspectives and argue that economic development is relevant to environmental viability.

It is understandable that some people believe that economic development is not relevant to the sustainability of our environment. Firstly, the burgeoning of economy mainly depends on manpower and government policies. For example, the rapid economic growth of China was mainly contributed by favourable policies and high quality labour. The infamous environmental pollution could not deter the Chinese economy from flourishing in the early twentieth century. Secondly, great environmental sustainability does not guarantee prudent economy. For instance, many African countries, such as Uganda and Zambia, can successfully preserve their environment and protecting many nature sceneries. Nevertheless, their economic situation is relatively backward, comparing to average global standards.

In my view, the stance of economic development being relevant to environmental viability is ultimately more persuasive. First, environmental protection creates numerous job opportunities. Environmental researchers and relevant promoters are examples. Our job market can become more dynamic under such circumstances. In addition, sustainable environmental progression expedites economic growth. Provided that our environment is protected, the tourism industry can conceive travelling campaigns in our nature. These events can attract more tourists, and eventually generate more income.

To sum up, while some people may not see the relevance between economic growth and environmental sustainability, the correlation between them indeed exist. We should emphasise both economic incentives and environmental virtuous cycle.