Some argue that music mainly serves as a way for individuals to reduce their stress and anxiety. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Music’s known for its language of emotions. It’s not just an entertainment for listeners, it seems to have a powerful magnetic field pulling their senses into all sorts of emotions, whether happiness, sadness, remorse, or anything else. Strange though it may seem, I beg to disagree with those people whose notion of this form of harmony is mainly to modulate our mental distress.

People listen to music for various reasons. To some listeners, soothing music, such as the classical, natural sound, and upbeat tempo may be like a makeshift magical spell that transcends them mentally and emotionally away from all their problems and uplifts their moods. Hence, many are subscribing to Spotify, iTunes, or other digital music platforms. The more they listen to the music genre that lifts their mood, the more they become productive and tranquil. Music to them is an escape. However, from a personal standpoint, music only makes me more emotionally unstable about what the genre is; it does not reduce my emotional problems even a little bit, even when I listen to upbeat music, because when I turn off the music, the nervous tension still lingers inside me.

Whenever I listen to music, my emotion gets intense. It triggers my apprehensiveness and melancholy. Dissimilar to the perspective of some people who are in favor of considering music a form of relaxation, my view on that is different. For instance, delicate music makes me feel even more distressed than I already do. It seems like every note transports me to an imaginary memory teeming with heartbreaks and regrets, as though the melodies are rummaging the inside of my head and restoring all the depressive memories that were buried long ago.

To me, the true purpose of music is to make us feel something in our hearts and trigger emotions. I’ve been listening to music of every genre, with the sole aim of being able to feel something that I have not had before, to understand my world.