Some argue that music mainly serves as a way for individuals to reduce their stress and anxiety. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Music is renowned for its ability to convey emotions. It’s not merely a form of entertainment for listeners, it can also be a powerful force that triggers a range of emotions, including happiness, sadness, regret, and more. Although some people believe that music is primarily used to alleviate mental distress, I disagree with this notion.

Those in favor of considering music a form of relaxation point out how it is used by most listeners. People listen to music for various reasons. Most listeners agree that soothing music, such as classical, natural sounds, and upbeat tempos, can have a magical effect on their mental and emotional state that helps them escape from their problems and uplifts their mood. As a result, many people subscribe to digital music platforms like iTunes, where they can access a vast library of music and create personalized playlists to suit their moods. The more they listen to relaxing music, the more productive and tranquil they become. Although this is impossible to verify empirically, music is an escape that helps them function well.

However, not everyone responds to music in the same way. It can be a double-edged sword that exacerbates their emotional problems rather than alleviating them. Even an optimistic tempo has no lasting effect on brightening their mood. Their relationship with music is complex and nuanced, and they ought to find other ways to cope with their emotional struggles. As an example, whenever I hear a melody, it intensifies my emotions and triggers feelings of apprehension and melancholy. Unlike some individuals who find music to be a source of relaxation, I feel the opposite. Soft and delicate music, which usually calms other people, tends to make me even more distressed than I already am. It seems as if every note takes me back to an imaginary memory full of heartbreaks and regrets, as though the melodies are exploring the depths of my mind and unearthing all the negative thoughts and feelings I have buried deep inside.

In conclusion, From a personal standpoint, I disagree that the main function of music is to serve as a way for individuals to reduce their stress and anxiety. I believe that the true purpose of music is to make us feel something in our hearts and trigger emotions. I have been listening to music of every genre, with the sole aim of being able to feel something that I have not had before, to understand my world.