Some argue that zoos serve no useful purpose and should be closed. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What are the alternative ways to protect animals?

Some believe that zoos basically hold no value in this day of age. I strongly agree with the statement while be also discussing the different options for wildlife preservation apart from zoos.

I agree with the notion that zoos hold no true value in this 21st century. This is primarily due to the negative stigmas attached to zoos from the previous time, where animals were brought in not to be protected, but used as tourist attractions. Additionally, most wild life that are kept in this exhibitions have been in there for most of their lives, not knowing what life in freedom feels like. Imagine this, young lions in zoos in the United States were brought by ship, sailed across the sea, just to be paraded in an enclosure.

Now that zoo enclosures are becoming less important in today’s society, it brings the introduction of alternatives for animal conservation. Such alternatives include wild life reserves and facilities. These infulstuctures were made to protect and preserve organisms which are endangered, low in population or in need of protection till they can return to their habitats. An example of this preservation facilities are the panda conservation homes that people would see videos of online. These facilities specifically have the purpose of protecting the remaining endangered Pandas, allowing them to procreate in guarded conditions until they are no longer hacked as ”endangered” and can then be let out back to their ecosystems.

In conclusion, I agree with the fact that animal zoos are no longer needed in today’s society, and should be replaced in favour animal conservation homes.