Some believe secondary students should learn International news as a subject at school, while others think it's a waste of time. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Opinions are divided on whether international news should be seen as a subject at secondary institutions or there is no point in doing so. In this essay, I will discuss both views before proposing my answer that this should depend on each student.

There are many underlying reasons why some individuals opine that studying global news is a misuse of time, chief among which is the contents taken in school curriculum. Some people believe that secondary students do not have enough interest in economic, political, or educational news, their preference might be entertaining pieces of news about their favorite actors and singers. Therefore, learners might take the subject for granted, fostering a sense of boredom and unmotivation. Another reason is the ability to access international news of secondary pupils. Nowadays, people have their own devices together with the Internet, which enables them to acquire knowledge from articles whenever they want, not just at the school.

However, I believe that information gained from global affairs is possibly beneficial in the future. When having more exposure to international news, secondary students might broaden their horizon about several fields. Doing so allows students to apply learnt knowledge to their tasks such as presentation or essays. Furthermore, even though it is true that pupils could have access to information, the possibility of misinformation is really high. When information is put into educational programs, they will be well-assessed and checked carefully. This could hinder the dissemination of fake news, preventing false perception of certain fields for students.

In conclusion, while students’ interests and the access to news are two main rationales proving learning International news is a waste of time, misinformation and the potential of adapting knowledge in the future show that global headlines should be instructed carefully be teachers at schools.