Some believe secondary students should learn International news as a subject at school, while others think it's a waste of time. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Nowadays, an increasing number of people are becoming concerned about the availability of international news. There are two diametrically opposed opinions on the matter. Some people assert that international news should be taught as a subject to secondary students at school, while others state that it is a waste of time. In the forthcoming lines of this essay, I shall discuss both sides of the argument and explain why I am in complete agreement with the latter viewpoint.

First and foremost, some people feel that teaching international news to pupils gives young people the chance to enhance their critical thinking and broaden their horizons. For example, when students have the opportunity to access global information, they can have the chance to discuss what is happening in the world in recent days with their peers, enabling them to think critically and making them well-rounded individuals.

On the other hand, it is also possible to mention that global news taught at schools can be a complete waste of valuable time. It should also be remembered that when schools focus more on international news, other important subjects that play a key role in the future career of pupils can be ignored. Moreover, students can access international news using various platforms due to the advancement of digital technology. Therefore, it is not necessary to be taught as a subject at schools.

To summarize all given information and opinions, my own opinion is that there is truth in both views. However, even though some individuals feel that global news plays a vital role in the school curriculum, I contend the opposing viewpoint. I personally have confidence in the opinion that placing much emphasis on international news at schools is a waste of valuable time.