Some believe that a four-day workweek would increase productivity and improve work-life balance. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely argued that shorter working week is compelling for workers and employers. I firmly believe that four-day working week enables less stressful work-life and brings wellbeing.

One of the key benefits of shorter working week is that it makes the work-life less stressful. Five days working week can tend to foster burnout and chronic fatigue because it can make them mentally stressed and depressed. Moreover, employees do not get sufficient rest in longer working hour format, which makes them irritated and disturbed. Consequently, this issue have an adverse impact on performance and productivity as disturbed minds can not focus sharply on work. For example, after enabling short working week in Sweden, it is observed that employees are more healthier and happier than ever before and another considerable outcome is the rapid rise in productivity.

Another key benefit of shorter working hours is that it helps the workers to maintain work-life balance by enabling social wellbeing. Four-day working week allows employees to spend more time with their family and friends, thus they become satisfied. Nevertheless, satisfied employees play indispensable role for the companies because employers face less turnover rate, which fosters a healthier working environment, increases productivity and performance. For instance, in Sweden, four-day working week enabled companies have lower turnover rate than the companies who have longer working week.

In conclusion, less working week brings wellbeing and makes employees lives healthier and happier. Therefore, I strongly believe shorter format is advantageous for both employees and employers.