Some believe that a four-day workweek would increase productivity and improve work-life balance. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People debate whether a four-day week is more beneficial for maintaining work-life balance compared to the traditional five-day workweek. I firmly believe that a four-day workweek enhances productivity by promoting a healthier work-life balance.

Productivity largely depends on performance, which is enhanced by adequate sleep, a balanced diet, and a 32-hour workweek. Microsoft Japan recorded a 40% increase in productivity in 2019 after introducing a four-hour workweek to improve work-life balance. Therefore, individual effectiveness improves with shorter working hours, rather than the traditional work schedule.

However, a four-day workweek not only cultivates higher productivity but also promotes a better work-life balance than a traditional workweek. A UK pilot reported 33 companies tried a 32-hour workweek and continued with it, thereby reducing burnout and stress and increasing revenue.

Furthermore, many people believe that a 32-hour workweek allows for more family time and personal development. While individuals working in the system are considering less time for personal growth and innovation. Tim Ferriss explained that shorter working hours help establish the habit of working smarter and prioritising tasks effectively.

In conclusion, the traditional working culture often leads to lower productivity and disruptions of work-life balance; however, compressed working effectively addresses these challenges. Work should occupy only one-third of life, allowing us to avoid the stress and suffering associated with traditional work culture.