Some believe that a four-day workweek would increase productivity and improve work-life balance. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent years, the idea of a four-day work week has gained significant attention around the world. Many people argue that reducing the number of working days can enhance productivity and create a good work-life balance. In fact, I believe that it has a positive impact on society for three reasons.

Firstly, a four-day work week allows people to get a better work-life balance. However, when employees work the whole week, they get too frustrated and don’t focus on the work. But with a four-day work week, people get many advantages, and moreover, the company has benefits. Workers get an extra day to rest, which helps with their sleep cycle, and they can spend time with family or pursue hobbies, which reduces stress and burnout. All of these things lead to greater job satisfaction and better mental health.

Secondly, candidates improved the productivity and were motivated to do good things. Employees have a mindset to do the work only four days a week; it’s a shorter time, and that causes people to become more focused and efficient when they have fewer work days, as they complete tasks within a short time frame. For instance, Microsoft in Japan tested a four-day week and reported a 40% increase in productivity and also some other benefits.

Finally, it is positive regarding the environmental impact. A merit of environmentalism is that fewer working days mean less commuting, and also people do not use their own vehicles, which reduces traffic congestion and, moreover, carbon emissions. Furthermore, people reduce absenteeism. When employees are well-rested, they take fewer sick leaves and remain more consistent in attendance and give more attention to their work.

To conclude, not only does half-week working enhance productivity, but it also reduces absenteeism. Therefore, I agree that it is improving the work-life balance.