some believe that advances in technology are increasing the gap between rich and poor while others think that the opposite is happening. discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

The debate over whether technological developments contribute to tightening the gap between the wealthy and the poor or if they actually have the reverse effect remains ongoing. While modern technologies undoubtedly provide an adequate solution for society’s obstacles and enhance people’s health, I strongly believe that they also act as one of the main reasons for the social imbalance.

On the one hand, proponents may argue that advances in technology not only provide humans with a more effective and sustainable solution for social problems but also increase the accessibility to modern treatment. While the only method of traveling for the poor is by foot, modern transportation allows them a better choice at an affordable price. Moreover, as transportation develops, the cost of air and sea travel will decrease gradually, which make long-distance travel more accessible to anyone. The advancement in medical treatment also provides equal treatment for society, cheaper prices and more effectiveness. Currently, children in undeveloped countries such as Bangladesh or Cambodia can access vaccines at an early age, significantly reducing the mortality rate.

On the other hand, while the advantages of technological advancements are undeniable in improving society, their contribution to broadening the gap between the rich and the poor is far more significant. Undoubtedly, modern technologies enable most of the population to access health treatment, but only for widely known and easily treated diseases. Most of the advanced treatments are out of reach for most people, such as cancer, having a cost that is hardly affordable. Furthermore, developed countries such as the United States or Denmark, make use of the cheap labor from the poor countries, thereby not only reducing the operation cost but also bringing large profits for the wealthy. As a result, research has pointed out that while one percent of the richest men hold about thirty percent of the world’s assets, thirty percent of the lowest class hold less than one percent of it.

In conclusion, although modern technologies play an important role in improving social life regarding sustainable solutions for obstacles and accessibility to medical treatment, their contribution to strengthening the gap between the poor and the rich is far more notable. By implementing appropriate policies to improve the living conditions of the poor, these advancements will continue to contribute to humanity’s development.