Some believe that because everyone needs a place to live, governments should provide houses for those who are too poor to afford their own. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals are of the opinion that because of the considerable necessity of houses for everyone, authorities should offer them for disadvantaged circumstances that people are too poor to purchase their house. Personally, I partly disagree with this school of thought due to some reasons that are explained in this essay.

On the one hand, the idea of providing houses for poor individuals is beneficial to some extent. When people without money fail to afford their accommodation, the rate of homelessness would increase, leading to a poor living condition and the spread of diseases. As a result, if governments can provide housing for individuals, the condition of public health would be secured better, benefiting not only poor individuals but also all members of society as a whole.

On the one hand, it is true that the rate of poverty is still high around the world, especially in developing countries. As a result, the number of people without the ability to own a house would be enormous, meaning that the cost to provide universal housing would be unimaginable for any national budget. Furthermore, it is challenging for the government to survey the amount of money each person has. As a result, some people may mis-use this measure by hiding their financial conditions so that they can gét a house for free.

In conclusion, while there are mixed opinions on whether the government should provide housing for poor individuals, I believe it is difficult for authorities to manage such a policy on a large scale. However, it is crucial to adopt an effective approach that targets support for the truly needy and combines it with long-term strategies to increase access to affordable housing.