Some believe that because everyone needs a place to live, governments should provide houses for those who are too poor to afford their own. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

As housing is considered to be a human’s fundamental necessity, some claim that it is the responsibility of the government to shelter homeless people. Personally, while I encourage this project given its benefits in solving social burden as well as promoting economic growth, there are still risks of financial burden and over-reliance, which in turn contribute to the deterioration of community.

Initially, providing houses for those devoid of affordability can be a great drive to combat social negatives, alongside with seizing economic merits. To be more specific, homelessness is an irritating phenomenon that serves as an impediment for the fulfilment of other demands, including self-sufficiency. This not only encourage the occurrence of poverty-related crimes, such as theft or robbery, in favor of maintaining their survivorship, but also elevates the burden on social welfare funding. Therefore, by reinforcing accommodation, these negatives derived from lacking housing are more likely to be mitigated, saving up money from social services for the development of other aspects. Plus, this approach opens up opportunities for homeless people to engage in employment, stimulating economic growth thanks to additional human resources.

On the other hand, there are also potential limitations of financial constraint and dependency derived from this approach that are likely to disrupt the government and society. Most importantly, this is not an absolute solution for homelessness and its associated negatives, thereby demanding a long-lasting support from the government in order to prevent repeat of lacking housing. And since the number of homeless incidents is countless, it is impossible for the government to effectively subsidize everyone without any intervention in other fundings. Additionally, it is inevitable that one may develop an over-relying pattern on this project, putting extra strain on community services. These implicit consequences require a substantial effort and time that can be used to foster the development of other important fields, such as healthcare or infrastructure.

In conclusion, while I believe that supporting the impoverished with accommodation can bring up various chance for improving social and economic conditions, there are still challenges of finance and over-dependence that threaten our community. Therefore, it would be advisable for businesses and charities program to make a joint effort along with the government in order to alleviate the sole burden and optimize the results.