Some believe that group projects in college improve teamwork skills, while others think individual work builds independence.

Both projects completed by groups and those completed individually are used as methods of learning in educational institutions. Some people think that group work makes students able to work within a team and communicate effectively, while others believe that individual assignments help students become more independent. In my view, both types of activities are necessary, but the former have more advantages than the latter in training students to be ready for work experience.

Firstly, when students do work in teams, they learn how to cooperate, communicate effectively, find solutions to different issues, overcome difficulties and discuss controversial questions. Such qualities are especially useful in modern society because most people should work in teams in any organization. Engineering or business projects done by students who study these subjects are performed in teams as well, which makes them similar to work in reality. Besides, discussions in teams can enhance creativity because many opinions and various ways of solving certain issues can be offered.

As for individual assignments, they allow students to be independent and take responsibility for their actions.It can increase confidence and develop critical thinking skills. In addition, individual assignment guarantees that each student gets his/her grade depending on his/her efforts rather than those of all other group members.

In summary, both group assignments and individual assignments have their places in learning process. But I think that group assignments are more advantageous since they enable students to get not only knowledge but also to acquire teamwork and communicational skills which are very important in current professional environment.