Some believe that introducing technology in the classroom enhances the learning experience for students, while others argue that it can lead to distractions and reduced face-to-face interaction. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There are two views when it comes to the introduction of technology in classroom, the first group belive that it uplifts the learning experience of students and the second group highlights the negative effects like increased distractions and decreased interactions amongst the students. While tecnologies support learners in correctly visualising their education materials and help the students understand better, there is no doubt that students are addicted to devices that results in reduced in-person communication. This essay discussed both the side of agrument and expresses my opinion on using technologies in classroom through strict moderation because the studies on distraction outweights the claims made by other studies.

The use of technology has been proven to be beneficial to many students. Students are able to better visualize the course contents when teachers use projectors and a power point slides. More than 2000 students from Kathmandu University claimed that they prefer studying through a projector and a powerpoint side because it helps them understand better. A study conducted by the world educational center in 2024 revealed that chldren who used technological devices like smartphones and tablets in classroom for educational purpose had 50% more relevant course knowledge than those who did not use. When this ground breaking study was published, many parents and school encouraged learning through technology. Besides having the relevant knowledge on study materials, they also are equiped with advanced problem solving activities. Scientists from Tribhuwan University conlduded that use of technology enhances the learning experience of studying children by subconsciously strengthening their confidince towards solving tecnology related problem. Technological equipment is essential, because students at different level are provided with assignments that require advanced research. But, when the learner does not have access to a plethora of information, they lack behind every others who do. Thus, these examples highlight how technology enhances learnings.

There are cases when the use of technology in classroom has had detrimental effects on the psychology of a child. Eventhough exposure to technology in classroom enhances learnings, many students are found to be addicted to them. In long run, this addiction is studied to result in worse mental conditions. The university of chicago conducted a research on excessive screen time on students. The results were very schocking because children with exposed screen time of more than 3 hours a day for more than 15 hours a day were proven to have 70% less attention span than normal children. Alongside reduction of attention, students with high tecnological exposure are also prone to diminishing their existing communication skills. As per UNICEF, more students who use phones, computers and tablets at home and school have 80% less interaction than they are supposed to do for healthy social development.

Using technology is essential due to its benefits of visualization. But children should be able to limit the consumption of technology because of its downsides as mentioned above. I personally believe that due to the indespensible role of technology in education, students should access it but in moderation. The study mentioned about visual representation totally ignores the story from the other side, meaning the use of technology and increased student performance has not been studied till date. Therefore i would recommened use of technology in classroom strictly under moderation.