Some believe that pets should stay at home at all times, while others feel they should be allowed outside the home. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is believed by many that animals should stay inside at all times, while others argue that they need to be allowed to move outside a confined space. Although it is true that animals have lived freely long before humans started domesticating them, we need to take into consideration the current state of our society before taking a side.

First and foremost, I believe that people who support the idea of pets being allowed outside do not have bad intentions and only wish the best for animals. Dogs, for example, are animals who are hugely influenced by their surroundings, so it is extremely beneficial for their health and welfare to be allowed outside. Outdoor activities provide opportunities to explore and interact with different stimuli that help them live a better and calmer life.

On the other hand, those who stand with the point of view that pets should stay inside at all times argue that it is safer for them to be in a confined environment. On the streets, animals are susceptible to traffic accidents and poisonous substances. Outdoor cats frequently are victims of human cruelty and fall ill due to these hazards. As a result, the resolve of owners that want to keep their pets inside only deepens.

From my perspective, the approach needs to be adapted for every pet. Different species have different behaviours and responsible ownership needs to be based on the specific characteristics of each animal. While dogs benefit from outside activities, more vulnerable animals should be kept safely inside their homes.

In conclusion, even though pets should be allowed to live as they were intended to, we cannot ignore the fact the world has changed significantly and therefore our actions and beliefs need to change accordingly. It is fundamental for owners to understand what their pet needs and act accordingly.