Some believe that students should begin learning a language very early in school while others think these subjects should be taught later. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

There are conflicting views when students should begin learning languages. While some believe that acquiring basic skills should be taught later, in my opinion, it is the best way to begin studying languages earlier.

On the one hand, some people contend that early introduction of language learning in schools may not be essential. Instead of this, students should focus on obtaining other fields of education, such as basic arithmetic , literacy in the first language, and creative abilities. For instance, research has shown that students who dedicate significant time to learning languages at primary school tend to enhance only humanities-oriented abilities rather than analytical thinking skills. From this perspective, beginning language acquisition in primary education can hinder certain skills in a student’s development.

On the other hand, acquiring language abilities can be an invaluable process in improving communication skills, especially with individuals from different cultural backgrounds. For example, studies have demonstrated that school children who receive language instruction at school are more likely to develop various languages without difficulty in the future. Additionally, engaging in language learning during the early years of schooling tend to broaden horizons and stay socialised .

In conclusion, although individuals argue that developing language skills at primary school should be educated at a later point in time, I believe that language learning has a little negative impact on other areas of education , apart from social academic disciplines.